• shareIcon

Balance the Chakras and Body Energy Centers with Yoga

Updated at: Jun 21, 2018
Written by: Meenakshi ChaudharyPublished at: Aug 01, 2017
Balance the Chakras and Body Energy Centers with Yoga

Yoga, the spiritual and ascetic discipline, has been very popular not only among Hindus and Buddhists but also among people of other religions. Among several benefits, Yoga can also help you balance your life's energy chakras.

Yoga has proved to be one of the most effective spiritual and ascetic disciplines that can provide numerous spiritual and health benefits. Yoga can also help you balance your chakras, the spiritual energy centers located in your body. If you are willing to do some yoga you can easily learn how to balance your chakras. After a few weeks, you will be able to effectively use yoga to control your chakras. There are 7 chakras in a person’s body which can collectively influence the well-being and overall health. Understanding the following poses will tell you how to balance chakras.

Virabhadrasana for Root Chakra

The root chakra, also known as the muladhara, is located at the base of the spine. The chakra, represented by colour red, forms the foundation of the energy system. It controls the emotional energy and the need for safety and ability to trust. Virabhadrasana helps you build a strong foundation in the feet. To perform the asana stand straight with your legs at shoulder distance apart. Now turn your right foot out by around 90 degrees and the other foot in by about 20 degrees. Slowly lift your arms sideways to shoulder height with palms facing upwards and slowly bend your right knee to the right. Push your pelvis down and hold the warrior-like position for as long as you can. Once you get back in the initial position, perform the same steps on by bending the left knee.

Baddha Konasana for Sacral Chakra

The orange coloured scalar chakra is located right above the root chakra and below the belly button and governs the sex organs and the sexuality of a person. You can balance this chakra with the help of baddha konasana pose. To perform the asana sit on a mat with your legs stretched out. Now slowly bend your knees and pull your heels closer to your pelvis. Let your soles touch and pull your feet further in closer to the pelvis. Now grasp the toe of your feet with the first two fingers and the thumb of each hand to keep the outer edges of the feet on the ground. Hold the pose for about 5 minutes and perform this exercise again.


Navasana for Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus or the navel chakra is located right above the belly button and below the sternum. It is represented by yellow colour and governs vitality and selflessness. You can balance with Navasana. Sit on the floor with knees bent and hands on the floor behind you. Using your abdominal and butt muscles lift your feet off the floor. Now slowly extend your arms in front of you, parallel to the floor. If you can manage, straighten your legs slightly upwards. Hold the position for as long as you can and repeat it again for at least 5 times.

Ustrasana for Heart Chakra

The green coloured heart chakra is located right over your breastbone which also controls the ability to passionately love someone. You can balance your heart chakra with Ustrasana or Camel Pose.

Matsyasna for Throat Chakra

The blue coloured throat chakra is located above the heart chakra right over the throat and governs your self-expression, communication and esteem. You can balance this chakra with Matsyasna or Fish Pose. Sit on the floor with legs folded into padmasana and lay back on the floor. Using your palms raise your trunk and head and place the crown of the head on the floor. Now place your hands on your thighs and hold the position for at least 2 minutes.

Child's Pose for Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is indigo coloured and located right above the eyes and controls your wisdom and intuition. You can balance this chakra with child’s pose. Sit on your knees with your buttocks resting on the heels. Slowly move your knees around hips width apart and place your hands on your thighs. Inhale deeply and stretch your arms forward and move your chest between your knees as you exhale. Rest your forehead on the floor and bring your arms in and let them rest on the floor next to your thighs.

Sirsasana for Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is located at the top of your head. The white coloured chakra controls your spirituality and ability to connect with something. To balance this chakra, perform the Sirsasana pose. To begin with, sit on your knees and place your head on a soft surface. Now push your body using your feet and at the end life one leg up to get into an upside down position. Balance your weight and hold the position for as long as you can.

Image Source: Getty


All possible measures have been taken to ensure accuracy, reliability, timeliness and authenticity of the information; however Onlymyhealth.com does not take any liability for the same. Using any information provided by the website is solely at the viewers’ discretion. In case of any medical exigencies/ persistent health issues, we advise you to seek a qualified medical practitioner before putting to use any advice/tips given by our team or any third party in form of answers/comments on the above mentioned website.

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK