Chakra Meditation for Beginners

Updated at: Aug 06, 2013
Chakra Meditation for Beginners

Chakra meditation is a popular form of meditative technique that helps in regulating energy systems through the body. Understand the basics of Chakra medication with tips on how to perform it in easy steps.

Pratima Sharma
Mind BodyWritten by: Pratima SharmaPublished at: Jun 24, 2013

Meditative techniques are considered highly beneficial for striking the right balance with the energy systems flowing through our system. Achieving prime health is all about getting these energy systems flowing in the right direction. Meditation will help your entire system to relax and will also help you to better control your emotions and lead a more positive life. However, you would essentially require trained coaches and mentors who act as role models and help to get your act right.

Understanding the Basics of Chakra Meditation

Chakra meditation is one such popular form of meditative technique which helps in regulating energy systems through the system. It ensures a healthier body and a happier mind, when practised on a regular basis. For beginners, this form of meditation might seem like a complex one. However, chakra meditation is one of the simplest forms of meditative art which has been devised till date. All you need would be a well-ventilated open space, about 30 minutes of your time and some vivid imagination to work up the desired visuals. Remain in a completely relaxed state of mind with no binding worries or obligations, when you attempt chakra meditation for the first time.

To start with, you would have to imagine the presence of 7 chakras in the body system. These chakras are the revolving centres of energy. They are of extreme importance to the system and should be functioning in coherence with each other for complete health and wellbeing.

  • The Shasrara or the crown is the first chakra.
  • The second one is the Ajna or the point in between the eyebrows.
  • Further below, there is Vishudda which means the throat.
  • Then of course, there is the all important chakra concerning the heart, which is called the Anahata.
  • This leads to the Manipura or the navel point.
  • The sacral elements are captured by the Svadisthana Chakra.
  • Finally, there is the Muladhara, or the root.

Now that you are aware of the seven chakras, beginners have to learn the art of opening them up for spiritual balance and improved physical health. In order to achieve this, one needs to imagine a specific shade of light spinning along with each chakra. You need to start this imagination exercise right from the last chakra and work your way to the top. The colours associated with each of the chakras are:

  • The crown is violet.
  • The point in between the brows is indigo blue.
  • The throat is pale blue.
  • The heart is emerald green.
  • The navel is golden yellow.
  • The sacral is orange and
  • The root is red.

Ideally, you start with the root or the Muladhara and sequentially move up to the Shasrara.

Chakra meditation for beginners is a combination of learning the core concepts and putting them to use with the help of an expert teacher. Learn from the experts to reap maximum benefit and peace of body and mind.




All possible measures have been taken to ensure accuracy, reliability, timeliness and authenticity of the information; however does not take any liability for the same. Using any information provided by the website is solely at the viewers’ discretion. In case of any medical exigencies/ persistent health issues, we advise you to seek a qualified medical practitioner before putting to use any advice/tips given by our team or any third party in form of answers/comments on the above mentioned website.

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK